Symposium 2015 Program

Welcome

Opening remarks

Raymond Lai, MD, PhD, FRCP (Medical Director, DynaLIFE)


Genomic Biomarkers in Oncology

 

Presentation notes
Presentation audio (MP3)

Steven Anderson, PhD

Cervical Cancer Screening Updates

Presentation notes 
Presentation audio (MP3)

Gordon Johnson, MD, FRCPC


Diagnostic Work Up for Bleeding Disorders

Presentation notes 
Presentation audio (MP3)

Hanan Gerges, MD, FRCPC

Antibiotic Susceptibility Testing - Why, When and What?

Presentation notes 
Presentation audio (MP3)

Shobhana Kulkarni, MBBS, MSc, FRCPath

ESR or CRP

Presentation notes 
Presentation audio (MP3)

Trefor Higgins, MSc, FCACB


Allergies - What We Measure, What You Should Order

Presentation notes 
Presentation audio (MP3)

Karina R Capote, MD, PhD, FCACB

I've Booked My Trip; What Shots Do I Need? A Practical Approach to Travel Vaccines

Presentation notes 
Presentation audio (MP3)

Stan Houston, MD, DTM&H, FRCPC

Thyroid Markers: Current Guidelines, Utilization Recommendations & Challenges

Presentation notes 
Presentation audio (MP3)

Mathew Estey, PhD


Due to recording limitations, the audio may not be complete.

Symposium 2015 Speaker Biographies

 

Raymond Lai, MD, FRCPC, Medical Director(raymond.lai@dynalifedx.com)

Dr. Raymond Lai took on the role of medical director at DynaLIFE in November 2010. Dr. Lai also runs an active research laboratory at the University of Alberta.

Steven Anderson, PhD

Dr. Steven Anderson is the global head for clinical trials at LabCorp.

Gordon Johnson, MD, FRCPC (gordon.johnson@dynalife.ca)

Dr. Gordon Johnson has been the director of cytology at DynaLIFE for many years and is a leader in the Cervical Cancer Screening Program of Alberta. He has also long served as the consultant pathologist to the Alberta Laboratory Quality Improvement Program of the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Alberta.

Hanan Gerges, MD, FRCPC (hanan.gerges@dynalife.ca)

Dr. Hanan Gerges is a hematopathologist, working at the University of Alberta hospitals, DynaLIFE and the Cross Cancer Institute.

Shobhana Kulkarni, MBBS, MSc, FRCPath(shobhana.kulkarni@dynalife.ca)

Dr. Shobhana Kulkarni is a medical microbiologist who has been working at DynaLIFE since 2007. She previously trained and worked in London, England. She has an interest in promoting antimicrobial stewardship and microbiology test utilization.

Trefor Higgins, MSc, FCACB (trefor.higgins@dynalife.ca)

Mr. Trefor Higgins is currently the director of clinical chemistry at DynaLIFEand has many years of experience in the position. In 2005, Mr. Higgins was awarded a Fellowship by Special Distinction by the Canadian Academy of Clinical Biochemistry. This was the first time this fellowship was ever awarded.  

Karina Capote, MD, PhD, FCAB (karina.capote@dynalife.ca)
Dr. Karina Capote is currently a clinical biochemist at DynaLIFE. After immigrating to Canada, Dr. Capote completed a postdoctoral fellowship with the department of obstetrics and gynecology at the London Health Sciences Centre and University of Western Ontario in London. ON and obtained a PhD in biochemistry from the University of Western Ontario. Dr. Capote held the Kilee Patchell-Evans postdoctoral fellowship in nueorscience with the Autism Research Group and the Department of Psychology and Neuroscience from 2005-006 at the University of Western Ontario in London, ON.

Stan Houston, MD, DTM&H, FRCPC
Dr. Stan Houston is a consultant for Travellers' Health Services as well as working in the Department of Medicine & School of Public Health.

Mathew Estey, PhD (mathew.estey@dynalife.ca)

Dr. Mathew Estey is currently a clinical biochemist at DynaLIFEHe obtained a PhD in biochemistry and cell biology from the University of Toronto. During his postdoctoral fellowship, Dr. Estey was the lead investigator of the CALIPER transference study, a Canada-wide initiative to determine age and gender specific pediatric reference intervals.